Bylaws of the Jury for the Adolf Goetzberger Prize

- 1) The Adolf Goetzberger Prize was established in 2024 by the board of trustees of the Adolf Goetzberger foundation (BoTAG). Its purpose is to honour scientific, technical, societal or entrepreneurial merit in the development field of solar energy and renewable system integration, demonstrating a visionary approach or implementation. It is primarily a European Award but not restricted exclusively to European citizens.
- 2) The Prize is awarded periodically to preferably a single individual. The prize cannot be awarded posthumously.
- 3) This periodicity is linked to an annual Symposium organized by the Solar Promotion Group where the Prize shall be awarded in a solemn ceremony.
- 4) The prize winner for the Adolf Goetzberger Prize is selected by the Jury.
- 5) The board of trustees of the Adolf Goetzberger foundation selects the members of the Jury and implements the necessary modifications to the bylaws to insure in perpetuity the selection of the Jury and appropriate candidates.
- 6) The Jury is formed by:
 - (a) at least 5 individuals, which can be increased pairwise to ensure an uneven number,
 - (b) members of the BoTAG can also be named as Jury members.
- 7) The Jury is chaired by one of the Jury members. He/she must be elected by the Jury after the implementation by the BoTAG.
- 8) Any decision of the Jury must be taken by the majority of votes among all members participating in. Assemblies and voting can be held without physical presence, but the usual rules of information and debate held in assemblies with physical presence must be respected in all cases. Secret votes are forbidden for the Jury members.
- 9) The Adolf Goetzberger Prize consists of a diploma including a short notice of the content of the Adolf Goetzberger prize. The diploma will be signed by two members of the BoTAG and the chair of the Jury. The Adolf Goetzberger Prize is also associated with a monetary award, the amount of which is determined by the BoTAG.
- 10)The prize is announced publicly each year in May for submission of proposals for new candidates together with the announcement of the Symposium mentioned in §3. Proposals should be addressed to Jury@Goetzbergerstiftung.de.

The announcement of the call for submissions shall be made in a broad basis: at least via the website of the Symposium where the prize is granted and via the website of the Adolf Goetzberger foundation. Proposals of new candidates have to be accompanied by a list of necessarily completed documents, provided by the BoTAG.

- 11) Approximately three months before the Prize ceremony the Jury chair sends all received proposals for candidates including the additional information to the Jury for evaluation. If a Jury member wishes additional information from the nominees this should be done in written form to the Jury chair, who will forward the request to the respective nominee and sending back the obtained answer.
- 12) Each Jury member performs a selection following the list of criteria defined by the BoTAG within 3 weeks after receiving the proposals. Thereafter the Jury Chair calls for a meeting (physical and/or online) and the Jury members discuss in detail the proposals with the goal to reach consensus. Eventually the winner of the Prize will be selected by receiving the majority of votes among the Jury.
- 13) Suggested candidates which were not selected as winner in this year may be carried forward by the Jury to the next year selection round. At least two votes of Jury members are necessary to keep the proposal.
- 14) The awardee will be notified of his/her selection by a letter jointly signed by two BoTAG members and the Jury Chairperson at the latest six weeks before the ceremony. The awardee's name will be announced to the public by the Adolf Goetzberger Foundation no later than the day of the award ceremony.
- 15) The prize ceremony should consist of a Laudatio of the awardee. The Laudator shall be chosen by the Jury Chairperson, usually based on the suggestion of the awardee, followed by the offering of the award itself, by a member of the BoTAG, and finally by a keynote speech given by the awardee. At the end of the ceremony one member of the BoTAG will announce the prize level for the next year.
- 16)A change of the Bylaws needs a qualitative majority of 2/3 from the BoTAG members.

October 2024

Thomas Nordmann (chairman BoTAG)

Markus Elsässer (vice chairman. BoTAG) (chairman Jury)

Dr. Winfried Hoffmann

Yorks Estasso Kinfind Mandeur